Griffith Review Christmas Party

Wonderful evening at Avid Reader last night, celebrating another excellent year for the Griffith Review. Enjoyed readings by Melissa Lucashenko, Rachael S. Morgan, Cory Taylor, Sally Breen and Alan Vaarwerk. Editor Julianne Shultz raised again the worrying trend in book sales figures – are people turning away from fiction? This question has been bothering me all year, as I wave books at my children in (mostly vain) attempts to lure them away from repetitive online games and inane television. Yes, they enjoy the sense of identity and agency they get from their online communities – but they’re missing out on a world of relationships with authors, characters, fellow-readers, ideas and possibilities that I think are unique to the experience of reading fiction. Or am I just being reactionary? In any case, my mate Anna and I thoroughly enjoyed our literary evening out – Anna even won wine and chocolates, which she kindly shared with me, so smiles all round.

About andreabaldwin

I'm a freelance writer, publishing travel articles and features. I also write short fiction and novels for adults, young adults and children. I've been a registered psychologist for 20 years, and my past careers have included clinical psychology, organisational psychology, and management. I'm interested in the interactions between people and places, particularly how the natural environment supports the health of individuals and communities, and the importance of caring for our environment. I'm also interested in the ways people use writing to better understand their own thoughts and feelings, and to connect with others.
This entry was posted in Literary Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

