“Sammy’s gone away, aboard a man o’ war”

I can now officially reveal that I’m shipping aboard Duyfken as a volunteer crew member. I’ll be joining the ship in Cooktown and sailing to Weipa, which should take approximately two weeks. She’s sailing home from Sydney to Fremantle, where she was built 14 years ago.

It’s very strange, trying to write something succinct about this, because since I first heard of Duyfken just a couple of months ago she’s become something of an obsession. I hope to write more lucidly after the voyage! Follow our progress on Facebook: Duyfken 1606.

I’ll be taking a break from blogging because I’ll be out of internet range on the ship, and heading for Ireland almost as soon as I get back, where the travel schedule may not allow much time for posting. I’ll be attending the West Cork Literary Festival in Bantry, the International Drama in Education Research Institute (IDIERI) in Limerick, and Galway Arts Festival in – you guessed it!

Don’t miss me too  much – I’ll be back in August, with plenty to say and share.

About andreabaldwin

I'm a freelance writer, publishing travel articles and features. I also write short fiction and novels for adults, young adults and children. I've been a registered psychologist for 20 years, and my past careers have included clinical psychology, organisational psychology, and management. I'm interested in the interactions between people and places, particularly how the natural environment supports the health of individuals and communities, and the importance of caring for our environment. I'm also interested in the ways people use writing to better understand their own thoughts and feelings, and to connect with others.
This entry was posted in Boats and ships, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Sammy’s gone away, aboard a man o’ war”

  1. Mal says:

    Congratulations Andrea, you must be so excited by this. Not only do you get to sail on her, but through Torres Strait too! Of course we’ll miss you but expect lots of shanty sessions when you return…..not all in Dutch hopefully.

  2. Hi Mal, thanks for this. Yes, I’m very excited and a bit daunted. I don’t know a single shanty in Dutch, but I’m working hard on learning new ones in English. (I did learn two Dutch swear-words while hammering in some staples to hold the wiring for the chart-table light, but I’ve forgotten those – will have to ask Mirjam when I get aboard!)

Leave a Reply

